Personal Injury FAQs

Q:  I was seriously injured in an accident.  What should I do?

A:  Regardless of the type of accident you are in, such as an automobile, truck, motorcycle, bicycle or pedestrian accident, it is important to obtain information from other individuals at the accident scene.  Obtaining the following types of information can be very helpful:

  • The name, addresses, and contact information of all the drivers and vehicle owners involved.
  • Insurance policy information of the vehicle owners involved.
  • Information regarding the accident scene, such as orientation of the cars, photographs of the scene, and lighting conditions.
  • Information regarding any witnesses to the accident, including their names, addresses and contact information.

Additional steps to take include contacting the police if you believe there were traffic violations, seeking medical attention for yourself and anyone else who appear injured at the accident, and contacting your insurance company.


Back to top

Q:  I did not feel any pain after the accident, but after some time has passed I think I might be injured.  What should I do?

A:  Sometimes accident-related injuries are not physically felt until one to three days after the accident.  You should seek medical treatment right away if you are feeling pain or discomfort after the accident.  By seeking medical treatment, you are documenting the problem, which can be helpful if you later pursue a personal injury claim.


Back to top

Q:  If I want to file a personal injury claim, how long do I have to file a claim?

A:  In most circumstances, states have statute of limitation rules that delineate the length of time plaintiffs have to file personal injury claims.  In Florida, Title 8, Chapter 95.11 of the Florida Statutes, indicates that plaintiffs generally have up to four years from the time of the accident or discovering the injury to file a personal injury claim based on negligence.


Back to top

Q:  If I am seriously injured in a car accident, are my medical expenses covered?

A:  Florida is a no-fault insurance state, which means that regardless of who is at fault, your insurance company will generally pay for your injuries up to your personal injury protection (PIP) limit.  Florida requires all registered vehicles to carry at least $10,000 of PIP and $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL).


Back to top

Q:  The insurance company will pay for my expenses, so why do I need an attorney?

A:  When dealing with your insurance company, a variety of unexpected issues may arise.  Insurance companies have an incentive to minimize the amount they pay to their insureds for the expenses they incur after an accident.  For this reason, there are several advantages to hiring an attorney–an attorney can negotiate on your behalf with the insurance company, gather the necessary evidence against the negligent party, and help maximize the recovery you could potentially receive.

If you or someone you know has been seriously injured or has died as a result of an accident, an experienced personal injury attorney can assist you in recovering the compensation you deserve.  To consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer, contact Meros, Smith, Lazzara, Brennan & Brennan, P.A. today by email or call our St. Petersburg office at 727-822-4929.


Back to top

Quick Contact Form

Quick Contact Form